Participating Countries

The Student Switch Off campaign is running in seven different countries and fourteen universities across the EU in 2017-2020.

Participating institutions host energy saving competitions across their halls of residence, encouraging environmentally responsible behaviours among students which last long beyond their time in education. At the end of each year, the biggest energy savers are rewarded with prizes and parties. Across the EU, we're helping students to drive a genuinely energy effecient education sector.  An online energy dashboard has been developed to regularly feedback to students how much energy they are saving in their dormitories.

The Student Switch Off+ campaign runs in the seven different countries, aiming to reach 100,000 students living in the private rented sector, and 100,000 students looking to move into the private rented sector, with advise on energy efficiency, smart meters, energy performance certificates, and information on bills/providers, in as many universities as possible.

The universities participating in Student Switch Off are:

United Kingdom
University of Cambridge
University of York
London School of Economics and Political Science (just 2017-18)
King's College London
University of Liverpool (2018-19 and 2019-20)
University of Nottingham (2019-20)

Vilnius Gediminas Technical University

University of Cyprus

National and Kapodistrian University of Athens
Technical University of Crete

Dublin City University
National University of Ireland, Galway University
National University of Ireland, Maynooth University
University College Cork

Sofia University 'St Kliment Ohridski'

University of Bucharest

Click the flags below to find out more about how to get involved in your country.



bulgaria flag

romanian falg

irish flag